The quest for Padron Peppers..

Since a holiday in Palma in September last year I have been on the hunt for some padron peppers and have been harping on about them ever since. Last year I managed to order some from Waitrose but now it is says that they don’t stock them, I have seen them on the Sainsburys website but my local Sainsburys don’t sell them. I have even considered growing my own!!

I bought these little peppers from Aldi this week intending to put them in a salad but just had a thought that they look the same to a little green pepper so why not try and cook them in the same way and see if it works!!

10500305_10152671166162890_8197381536705865852_n

I gently fried one in olive oil as a tester turning to make sure it was cooked evenly then sprinkled with sea salt.. It did not taste exactly the same as a padron peppers as the skin is quite a bit thicker and green peppers are more ” peppery” BUT it was really nice and definitely something I will be doing again!

You don’t get the 1 in 10 spicy pepper though which is a shame! I quite like playing pepper roulette.

Give it a go! a quick, easy and healthy snack!

22407_10152671166012890_2398820586915006865_n

Leave a Reply

rachel eats

stories, pictures and cooking tales from an english woman living in rome.

What's 4 Dinner Solutions

Recipes and So Much More

Gregous Food

Gous recipes, food photography, recommendations

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Living well in the urban village

Lillian's Cupboard

I store all kinds of things about cooking, quilting and some surprises in my cupboard. Check it out.

The Circus Gardener's Kitchen

seasonal vegetarian cooking with a side helping of food politics

Tasty Eats

Tasty recipes from chef Ronit Penso's kitchen

