Mango, Rum and Lime Syllabub

The original plan for my party was a Mango lassi panacotta with coconut ice cream but Pannacotta and vegetarian gelatin do not work! So I binned the lot and started again. I wanted something quite light after lots of food and something quite refreshing and not too sweet, then I remembered this recipe from Shelina’s book.

Shelina was my favourite Masterchef winner up until recently when local lad Simon won the title! Although I think Shelina’s food was the most interesting hence me buying her book.

This is really easy to make and can be done in about 10 minutes, my 3 year old helped me me this ( until I added the rum!)

Ingredients to serve 4

4 ginger biscuits
300ml double cream
1/4 vanilla pod – seeds scraped out
3 tbsp icing sugar
75ml Rum
juice and zest of 2 limes ( the recipie says 4 but I only had 2)
150ml of Mango puree – I bought a tin from the indian grocery shop but you could just blend fresh.
1 mango peeled and cut into small chunks
Desiccated coconut to sprinkle

Bas the ginger biscuits in a sandwich bag with a rolling pin and put the crumble in the bottom of each individual serving dish and put a teaspoon of rum on top of each.

Using an electric whisk, lightly whisk the cream, add the vanilla, icing sugar, rum, lime juice and zest  (save a little zest for decoration) and whisk until it forms light peaks. add 1/3 of the mango puree and half the chopped mango and fold through for a marbled effect.

Put the cream topping on the biscuit base and top with the rest of the mango puree and chopped mango and a sprinkle of dessicated coconut and some lime zest.

Refrigerate until ready to scoff!

11952696_10152964606577890_6175290582032636653_o

One comment

  1. I really appreciated Gor cooking a gelatine free dessert, this syllabub was just stunning. Tangy and rich flavours yet light enough to follow indian dishes that are quite filling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

rachel eats

stories, pictures and cooking tales from an english woman living in rome.

What's 4 Dinner Solutions

Recipes and So Much More

Gregous Food

Gous recipes, food photography, recommendations

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Living well in the urban village

Lillian's Cupboard

I store all kinds of things about cooking, quilting and some surprises in my cupboard. Check it out.

The Circus Gardener's Kitchen

seasonal vegetarian cooking with a side helping of food politics

Tasty Eats

Tasty recipes from chef Ronit Penso's kitchen

