Chicken meatballs with preserved lemon and harissa relish – Yotam Ottolenghi

10658974_10153232831447890_1473032322155652222_o

 

I saw 10 minutes of a cooking programme last week as I was flicking through a sea of rubbish channels and saw this little beauty being made.. 3 days later it was in my belly! This is not my recipe at all and I have not tweaked it apart from cheating a bit with the corn as I didn’t have corn on the cob, but I think its worth sharing.

The soggy bread tip is a great one for making meatballs too and I have already applied this to another dish.

I got Yotam Ottolenghi’s latest book for Christmas and will be cooking 3 more dishes from it this weekend so watch this space. The flavour combinations are very interesting and he uses the kind of ingredients I love.

This recipe comes from here – Source

Ingredients 

Serves 2 as a main or 4 as a starter

1 whole corn cob,  ( I didn’t have any so cheated with a tin of Green Giant ;))
35g crustless white bread, roughly torn, soaked in water for a few minutes, then drained and squeezed
500g minced chicken. ( I just minced up a packet of chicken thighs.)
1 small onion, grated 
1 clove of garlic, crushed
15g coriander, chopped
7g parsley, finely chopped
1½ tsp ground cumin
1 small red chilli, finely diced
1 medium egg, lightly beaten
Salt and black pepper

Lemon and harissa relish
2 preserved lemons, flesh and skin sliced into thin strips
1 tsp lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp Harissa paste

12733359_10153232831507890_3646911542231626063_n

 

Heat your oven to 180c

If using corn on the cob, heat a griddle pan until very hot and then brush the corn with oil and char grill it for up to 10 minutes until the skin has lots of dark charred specks. If not fry some sweetcorn in a pan until getting slightly charred.

When the cob is cool slice off the kernels and put in a mixing bowl then add all the meatball ingredients, combine well and shape into medium sized balls.

For the lemon relish – which I LOVED as it reminds me of lime pickle, just mix all the ingredients and take out the pips.

Leave a Reply

rachel eats

stories, pictures and cooking tales from an english woman living in rome.

What's 4 Dinner Solutions

Recipes and So Much More

Gregous Food

Gous recipes, food photography, recommendations

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Living well in the urban village

Lillian's Cupboard

I store all kinds of things about cooking, quilting and some surprises in my cupboard. Check it out.

The Circus Gardener's Kitchen

seasonal vegetarian cooking with a side helping of food politics

Tasty Eats

Tasty recipes from chef Ronit Penso's kitchen

